Pattern: Puerperium Cardigan from Kelly Brooker
Yarn: Wollmeise DK by Wollmeise in Pesto
Ravelry LinkPuerperium Cardigan
Notes: Needle 4.0 mm, buttons from Rowan

Don’t let the long silence fool you, I have been crafting and now I’m ready for some blogging! Over the past few months morning sickness, work, tiredness and the arrival of a new baby have meant that by 10pm I am collapsing into bed, making it hard to find time for chatting on the web. But there has been so many fun crafty adventures that now I am bursting and need to share.

First is this fantastic pattern, it is a very popular on Ravery with over 5300 cardigans made and I can see why. It’s quick to knit, cute, and best of all so practical for baby. As a new mum I really appreciate anything that doesn’t have to go over the head and has arms that are nice and stretchy. This version of the pattern is free,  written for 8ply yarn and sized to fit a newborn (3-4kg). Kelly also has a Beyond Puerperium pattern for sale which is written for 4, 8 and 10ply with sizing up to 2 years. I couldn’t help buying her Button Lovers ebook which includes the Beyond Puerperium and Tama pattern as I am sure to knit more of these in the future

This was also the first time I have knitted with Wollmesise DK. It is 100% merino and at first I thought it might not be soft enough for baby clothing but after washing I am surprised at how soft it is and as typical for Wollmesise the colour range is great. The new website makes buying her yarn so much easier and I think the price very reasonable for hand dyed yarn. I do hope I get a chance to visit her brick and mortar shop in Germany some time soon.

6