Pattern: Wurm by katushika
Yarn: Merino/Cashmere/Nylon worsted by The Plucky Knitter in Rutherford Grill
Ravelry Link: Wurm
Notes: 3.25 mm needle for the rim and 4 mm needle for the rest of the hat

Oh I do love the fancy rim-hem-thingie used in this pattern. It’s given the hat such a tidy finish and the double thickness will surely keep my ears warm.  The band is created by knitting for 12 rounds, purling 1 round and knitting for another 12. You then fold at the purl round and pick up and knit the bottom row stitch with your next stitch in the current row (i.e knit the two stitches together) to create a hem, just like you would if folding fabric to create a hem when sewing a garment – so clever!

The pattern suggests a 5ply yarn but I’ve used a 10ply giving me a very thick, warm hat with enough “stiffness” to be able to wear it sticking up or I can push it back for a more slouchy look.  As always the Plucky yarn is a dream to knit with, so soft and the fabulously intense colour makes you want to keep knitting.

I can see me wearing this hat most weekends and now the pressure is on to knit a couple more hats that will be appropriate for wearing to work. These are the sorts of things I have in mind…